The Regulatory Funding Company (RFC) is charged with raising a levy on the news media and magazine industries to finance the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO). This arrangement ensures secure financial support for IPSO, while IPSO’s complete independence is at the same time guaranteed by a majority of lay members, and is a further sign of the industry's commitment to effective self-regulation.

Board Members


Albert Read: Managing Director, Conde Nast Publications
(Date of re- appointment: 10 May 2018)


Keith Harrison: Editor, Express and Star
(Date of appointment: 2 March 2017)
Jeremy Clifford: Editor in Chief, Johnston Press
(Date of re-appointment: 10 May 2018)
Brian McCarthy: Chief Financial Officer, Archant
(Date of appointment: 10 May 2016)
Ellis Watson: Chief Executive Officer, DC Thomson Publishing
(Date of re- appointment: 10 May 2018)


Kevin Beatty - RFC Chairman: Chief Executive, DMG Media
(Date of appointment: 10 May 2016)
Lord Black of Brentwood: Vice chairman, Telegraph Media
(Date of appointment: 10 May 2018)
Neil Jagger: Chief Operating Officer (Nationals Division), Reach Plc
(Date of appointment: 10 May 2018)
Pia Sarma: Editorial Legal Director, Times Newspapers
(Date of appointment: 10 May 2016)

Error message

  • Warning: include_once(/home/regulato/public_html/themes/engines/phptemplate/phptemplate.engine) [function.include-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in _drupal_theme_initialize() (line 209 of /home/regulato/public_html/includes/
  • Warning: include_once() [function.include]: Failed opening '/home/regulato/public_html/themes/engines/phptemplate/phptemplate.engine' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php53/usr/share/pear:/opt/alt/php53/usr/share/php') in _drupal_theme_initialize() (line 209 of /home/regulato/public_html/includes/